Dysentery and Suffocation makes for a painful weekend, part 1

By golly, I can’t remember the last time a weekend was so awesome. I really wish my computer weren’t currently being fixed, or I’d have silly pictures to share, but that’ll have to come later. I spent it at my “father” Rj’s house with my “brother” Matt and “mother” Jaci. So yes, I spent it with my metal family. Awesome.

Willing suspension of disbelief: I was birthed by these two

The silliness began with the fact that the Dysentery and friends “birthday” show took place in a church. Praise the lord, and throw the fuck down.

Before I Had Wings

Complete with a xTUFFx arm folder


They’re not bad, but definitely nothing special. My main gripe with them is that they encouraged some unruly behavior, and that they robbed the better bands of perfectly good set time, playing 40 minutes when they should’ve only had 15. They get an angry fist shake from me.

Abnormality

Simone from Cerebral Bore has a sister, and she’s adorable!

Slamming Tech Death, can you dig it? I sure can. I hadn’t listened to them before the show, so I wasn’t quite up to date as far as their sound, just that they’re recognized for their brutality and the fact that they’re featured on Rock Band 2 as a bonus track. Their vocalist is quite energetic, and will shove a 200 pound black guy with no problems. Hawt.

Composted

Silly Slam just got silly

Composted may be humor based and occasionally whip out some ridiculous costumes, but they truly are dedicated musicians and seasoned entertainers. With members hailing from various bands such as Sexcrement, Terminally Your Aborted Ghost, and Strappado, none of these guys are newbies aside from bassist Tim Chang, who’s pretty darn good. They’ve undergone some line-up changes but remain tighter than a virgin’s cunt before the entrails are ripped from them. This set was lacking in Doggie Dos, which will be a Composted classic as they begin putting out more releases, but it was still a great set, showcasing Brass (Moose) Knuckles, Sausage Cathedral, Phallus Palace, Slit’N’Slide, and BB(W)Q. Boom, muthafucka.

This Name’s Taken

Criminal Justice, Breakdowns, Battlestar Galactica

To be honest, these guys bored the living hell out of me, but props to their guitarist Nick for wearing a Skeletonwitch shirt. They, like BIHW, seemed to take a little too long with their set, or maybe it was the fact that I didn’t enjoy them very much that made it feel like a grind.

Stairwell Sea

Life sucks when you have glasses

Jazzy Post-Hardcore would be the best way to describe these guys. They’ve got mad skills, and are quite a bit older than they sound, having their name from Warsynium, the name they took when they formed a long ass fuckin’ time ago. Definitely enjoyed them a bit more than TNT.

Dysentery

My brother is not the best merch salesman


Due to BIHW being time hogs and the church closing at 11-ish, Dysentery’s set had been drawn and quartered, leaving them only 10 minutes to bring down the haus. I must say, they had the quickest set-up ever, possibly under three minutes, and immediately got to slamming the holy fuck out of the place. Many silly dances were done, much change was picked up, and my shirt had a naked caveman on it. ‘Twas an evening to remember.

I’ll make a whole nother post about the Suffocation show in another post, because my ADD is acting up and it took hours to finish this. Now if you’ll excuse me, I must remove some mucus from my head.

Leave a Reply

