No Less Painful The Fourth Time Around: Dysentery CD Release At The Palladium

It hurts to move my arms, but luckily not to type, so I’ll be doing this on time, yay! Getting home at 3:39, which is currently my latest record due to walking and saving money I could’ve blown on a cab, so three cheers for hoofing it four miles!

The Path Of Glory is not so metal. But it’s GLORIOUS!

Ow, I just raised my arm to itch my face and my shoulder stabbed me with a pin. Let’s move this along, shall we?

Treachery 

NO! NOT INTO THE PIT! IT BURRRRRRRNS!!

These guys are good at what they do, and that is the “Dirty D”, Deathcore. I sat back and watched this one, but in the future I’ll pit to them. The vocalist had some nice highs reminiscent of As I Lay Dying, and lows sort of like I Declare War, though not nearly as ballsy, but competent. They get a good grade from this cat.

Run For Your Guns

“Yes, this is a good show, but I wonder what’s for dinner.”

This is definitely one of the weirder bands I’ve seen. They were rumored to be Technical Death Metal, but as soon as I saw the bubbly and summer-dressed frontwoman step up, I thought they’d be some sort of Pop-Punk act. Things only got stranger when the guitarists opened up with a flourish of not-so-pop-punk downtuned notes, and then I officially had no idea what to label them. But I guess we can toss genres aside and say they sounded like an Eyes Set To Kill After A Day To Remember The Burial Of Your Arch Enemy. Props to the frontwoman for her ability to growl like a motherfucker, the guitarists for their varied chops, but boo to the electronic drumset. Although it was fun when it sounded like clapping, it just sounded too artificial. GO HOME.

Dessiccation

Gee, it sure is boring around here!

Having not heard this band until the show, I had no idea what to think of them. Most said they sucked, but I had it on good authority that they combined elements of Veil Of Maya, Born Of Osiris, After The Burial, and some other three word Sumerian bands I don’t know of yet. In other words, either they sucked or were great. Well my ruling is that these guys definitely get too much hate for their sound. It’s wicked(hah) professional, which is no surprise seeing as they come from a wealthy background and their parents were willing to help them along in their rock’n’roll career. They have the potential to get really big someday, and if they’re gonna end up on Sumerian like their fellow youngsters, they should change their name to Dess Icc Sation.

Hivesmasher

The greatest face in Koridai!

If you want to see Hivesmasher live but are frightened by the (true)rumors of the sonic terror unleashed, then you’d best see them at the Palladium. It allows the sound to disperse nicely and they’re just a tad bit less deafening than usual, and the audience is more willing to fuck you up, which is a great thing for Grindcore. It seems that Hivesmasher enjoys playing more new songs than those on Ascension Into Dismal Stages, but I wouldn’t know, since the wall of noise is so great that sometimes they play songs I know and they go right over my head! But hey, they’re energetic, and masters of their craft, so definitely give them a listen-see, and have an utter lack for the safety of your eardrums.

Acaro 

SQUADALA!

Fuck, how have I not seen these guys three times live already? You know how most bands called Metalcore aren’t really a combination of Metal and Hardcore like the portmanteau implies? Well Acaro has no such problem. They effortlessly fuse Melodic Death Metal, Thrash, Groove, and Hardcore breakdowns to make some of the most crowd pleasing hymns known to Boston. Yes, even better than Dropkick Murphys. Acaro is one of those bands that gets you riled up whether you know the song by heart or not, and since they played two songs I do know by heart, I got pretty excited, you can guess. Check them out. If you don’t, you’re a failure as a man! Women too.

Dysentery

Mah boi, you must die of Dysentery. Ok I’m out of Zelda CDI quotes.

Without a doubt, one of the most brutal bands the Muscle Arm state has produced to date. Having landed a major record deal with Comatose, released two full length albums, and capped off a full US tour, this band has taken the world by storm. It helps that their fanbase ranges from the -Core kiddies to old Slam dudes, so the market is fackin’ huge, khed. Either it’s psychosomatic, or Dysentery has gotten better every time I’ve seen them, this being lucky number four in Japan. The crowd never sucks during a Dysentery show, and no matter how small the room or how many obstacles are in the way(namely a giant pole at O’Brien’s, there’s always the urge to fuck shit up. I wouldn’t have it any other way. If the possibility of getting hurt while enjoying the fuck out of yourself at a Dysentery show doesn’t sound like a good time, then come back when you’re a little, MMMMMM… less pussy. Okay that’s the last of them, I swear. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

