3 of 3 – June 26: Suffocation in Long Island Iced Tea

I gotta say, it feels strange being in the Big Applesauce twice in my life within the span of two months just to see one of its most popular metal bands, and I would have it no other way. Luckily we got to this show wicked early, unlike the last, where we got there wicked late, so we got to see everything, which is both good and bad, I suppose, but more details to come.

But first, Hipster Cat.

Since there were more bands than the lyin’ ass poster said, I’ll keep this one short, kinda like I did the one about Metalfest. I’ll try my best with the order, but frankly I can’t be arsed for the most part, and I’m distracted again.

Archon November

Very Melodic, very Technical, very Death Metal. I appreciated the vocalist’s energy in trying to get one of those”HEY!” chants going, but it only works for older/folky bands. Sorry lads, maybe in 10 years!

Palmyra

One of the better bands of the day, fusing Veil Of Maya with I Declare War and Carnifex. It seems to be a popular fusion but bands these days seem to finally be getting the mixing of Deathcore bands right. Except Design The Skyline, those fucks. And their weaves.

Betrayal

That’s what I hear this band is, but I dunno. It was the one with two girls in it, that’s all I can say. I wasn’t a huge fan, as the vocals were a bit too sugary sweet for a show like this and the guitarist in the Death shirt had some great Prog Metal chops, so it was a bit hit’n’miss. The cover of Anthrax’ Madhouse was a bit uncalled for, but an okay stab at it, I suppose. More Metal influence would help more than harm in their case.

Bloodshed

I must admit, seeing the guitarist/lead vocalist’s shirt threw me off a bit when I heard them starting up and walked inside to take a look-see. It had one of those bright green/pink/vomity designs that you’d see at your local Hot Topic crowding up the racks. Believe me, I used to shop there, and it seems that he still does. Don’t let that fool you, as these guys are far removed from novelty -Core, but play straight up Deathrash and will punch you in the grill, son. Had these guys been about 20 years older, their simplistic name would’ve gotten much respect, but it seems to be missing the modern pizzaz. I can see them going places, though. Far away places. With brown people.

Synthetic Crypt

Eh, wasn’t that interesting. So I guess this review won’t be.

Facing The Sun

Sat out for them, but it sounded pretty cool from where I was.

Enemy For Life

Alongside Palmyra, one of the better bands of the night. They mixed Death Metal, Thrash, and Slam to get the kids and adults alike moving around. The vocalist’s stage presence could’ve used some work, and slams are not the part where we kill each other! But you get A Prus.

Carcinogen

Hey, I didn’t know Napalm Death was playing! All joking aside, these guys impressed my socks off. Like all the bands aside from Suffocation on the bill, I hadn’t listened to them beforehand, but color me a potential new fan. They could very well be Grinding Deathrash’s finest.

Killjoy

The set was a little bit too long for my liking, so I can sadly say they lived up to their name that night. The first three songs and the very last were great, though, so no hate. Maybe I was just impatient for Suffo at the time, so can you blame me? YES? Go home.

Suffocation

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

CALM THE FUCK DOWN!

So, they played a pretty good set. They’re also cool dudes. Hang out with ’em, steal Mike’s drumsticks, beat someone up with them, spit on and swear at some whores. It was a great set as usual. Lots of slammage, lots of attempted crowdsurfing, people got punched out that desperately needed it, and there was a lot of running in circles. And Metallica. Motherfuck. Once again, there was no Abomination Reborn, but y’know what, it’s all good, I’m just happy they played Breeding The Spawn, Mass Obliteration, and Blood Oath, just a few of my favorite Suffo songs that are staples in their sets, so I ain’t even mad.

Leave a Reply

