In Remembrance Of MCA: Nice Guys at the Box Fort

Hola, niños. I’ve been too lazy to write, so fuck off. I’m also waiting on content from a bearded man from the north, who will make this “me” into a “we”, and will exponentially increase the silly. So without further ado, I’m back, but only by necessity. I could’ve broken into the Trailer Park Boys show, but I did this instead, just for you.

Sean and the Eckle Mans

I’m not even sure if this is a real thing or an experiment in how many random covers one can do without necessarily being a cover band. Not exactly the tightest band I’ve seen/heard, but it was still fun to watch this two-man outing chew the scenery with some admittedly borrowed tunes and reading a setlist from an iPhone. Phancy. They elude Google Fu, so I’m not sure if they even really exist. But if one of them is named Sean, they’re doing the noble name a service, and I salute them. Though I stand by my statement that the White Stripes are NOT HEAVY.

Masingo

They want to believe. Do you?

As disappointed as I was that their name is in fact not Missingno, they were quite good regardless. They’re one of those bands that’s all at once experimental while also keeping a strong undercurrent of stability. Nearly mathy start-stops coupled with straight up Indie/Punk melodies make for a confusing but not altogether bad listening experience. Good vibrations.

Nice Guys

NICE GUYS/BAD DECISIONS

People go hard for their surf punk. In fact, some of them treated the crowd like water. With the highest combined liquor/pot to flesh ratio of any band playing, they set out to show you that they don’t suck, and I think they did well, all the mad yelping included. They certainly didn’t lie when they said they’re Beach Boys x Black Flag slash fiction put to music, with those adorable surf/spy rockin’ riffs melding seamlessly with all the drunken aggresion of punk, at times teetering on burned out denial of imminent despair. Did it make sense? Not at all, but that’s why I write, because it’s the only medium where I can get away with it. If you’ve already checked out their bandcamp demo, go see them live, they’re actually not horrible. In fact, I’d go so far as to say they’re good. Just don’t break anything, it’s already broken enough. Wavves better watch out, because that pussy’s going in the dunk tank.

Leave a Reply

